If you’re concerned about your online privacy, I understand. Delete your Facebook account. If you’re a living, breathing human being, I also understand. Delete your Facebook account.
There are many reasons to delete your Facebook account because it’s a good suggestion. In this guide, I’ll show you exactly how.
Deleting vs Deactivating
The biggest difference in deleting vs deactivating your Facebook account is that deactivating gives you the option to return whenever you wish, whereas deleting would permanently delete everything under your account and profile.
What happens when you deactivate your account?
When you deactivate your account, your posts, profile information including pictures are hidden. But some information does remain visible, such as messages you’ve sent. No one can search for you, but Facebook saves your account information in case you decide to return in the future.
What happens when you delete your account?
Deleting Facebook, however, is forever. You cannot regain access once the account is deleted and everything associated with the user is permanently removed. Facebook will delay deletion for 90 days in case the user changes their mind, but this will start that process. Once the account is deleted, it’s gone forever.
How to delete your Facebook account.
Step 1: Click your profile picture in the top right corner
I had to create an entirely new account for this process so my picture doesn’t show.
Step 2: Click “Settings & Privacy”
Step 3: Now click “Settings”
Step 4: On the left-hand column, click “Your Facebook Information” and click “Deactivation and Deletion”
Step 5: Choose “Delete” or “Deactivate”
Step 6: Confirm
Step 7: Confirm (again)
And this is the page you’ll see once the account has been scheduled for deletion.
Finally, you’re free. Facebook doesn’t make deleting your account easy, but it can be done. There is light at the end.